.*. S .*. P .*. I .*. N .*. S .*. E .*. L .*. S .*.

• • • • • • on letters, words, books and graphic design • • • • • •

Abstract lettering

Letters are as much about the inner spaces as about the printing part. No new thought to anyone familiar with type, of course. It’s about the tension between outer and inner contours, sometimes fragile, sometimes bold. Good type, when enlarged, gives me the same breathtaking shiver as good sculpture. Just as woodblock printing, type design has more affinity with sculpting than with drawing. Cutting mass away, bringing light in the black. Not adding form but revealing it.

In my sketchbook I sometimes play with the anatomy of lettering, not making actual letterforms. Abstract lettering? Maybe I will place one here now and then…

Filed under: lettering, type & typography, , ,

Leave a comment